2009, As another year draws to a close…

2009, As another year draws to a close…

What a year! After not blogging on my site for over a year, its great to be back. 2009 has been an absolutely amazing year and I’ve been fortunate enough to meet some wonderful people, be a part of some exciting projects and learn a lot.

For the past 13 months I’ve been involved in network design, rollouts, maintenance and troubleshooting of various large enterprise networks, primarily assisting with the migration of these networks from another service provider to our network. I’ve had the opportunity to watch design become reality, turn problems into solutions and learn a lot about networking, security, VOIP and more. The majority of these networks have been between 50 and 300 site MPLS VPN networks, where my work has included anything from CE router cconfiguration, MPLS PE router configuration, routing within Client VRF’s, Hosting Enviroment onfiguration, Firewall Configuration, Third-Party connectivity VRF’s, Network Design, Establishing Migration strategies, Layer-2 and Layer-3 switch configuration, as well as a healthy dash of BGP and QoS.

As a result of being rather busy at work, my CCIE studies have had to take a back seat in 2009. I am however hoping to resume my studies early next year, possibly with the goal of attempting the written exam and lab before the end of 2010. I’ve also decided to broaden the focus of my blog, including more posts related to topics such as photography, politics and technology in general.

I thought I would leave you with, what can best be described as one of the most valuable lectures you will ever witness. Its not related to networking, but rather something far more important….

~ by networkingza on December 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
