CCIE written…Done!!

Yesssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did it! I passed my CCIE written exam!!!

Yesterday, 3 October 2008, I attempted my CCIE routing & switching written exam and passed on my first attempt. I’m really happy that not only did I pass the exam, but I was able to see how many hours of study and lab time have helped me to become comfortable with some of the more complex CCIE topics.

Initially after obtaining my CCIP certification at the end of July, I had planned to study for the rest of the year before attempting the written exam. Though once I got started reviewing the CCIE written exam  topics, I realized that much of the topics were covered by the CCNP and CCIP tracks.

Since I had just completed the CCIP, I was very comfortable with BGP, QoS and MPLS and since I’ve been playing around with IGP’s and BGP as part of my prep for those exams, I felt there was a chance that I could complete my written in the space of two months.

For the last two months I have read numerous books, watched countless CBT’s and worked hard to understand the technologies I was a bit weak on (Eg: FRTS). Since I work part-time, some days  I was able to devote as much as 14 hours a day to studying for this exam and having just completed my CCIP was also a real plus.

After reading Cisco Ferret’s post the other day, I thought I’d mention what resources I used to prepare for this exam. By large we used most of the same books…

BOOKS

CCNP BCMSN Official Exam Certification Guide (4th Edition) (Exam Certification Guide) Hardcover)

CCNP BSCI Official Exam Certification Guide (4th Edition) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)

CCNP ISCW Official Exam Certification Guide (Hardcover)

Cisco QOS Exam Certification Guide (IP Telephony Self-Study) (2nd Edition) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)

MPLS Fundamentals (Paperback)

MPLS and VPN Architectures, Volume II (Networking Technology) (Hardcover)

MPLS Configuration on Cisco IOS Software (Networking Technology) (Hardcover)

Network Warrior [ILLUSTRATED] (Paperback)

TCP/IP Illustrated, Volume 1: The Protocols (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing Series) (Hardcover)

CCIE Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide (3rd Edition) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)

Routing TCP/IP, Volume 1 (2nd Edition) (CCIE Professional Development) (Hardcover)

COURSEWARE

Cisco BCSM Courseware
Cisco BGP Courseware
Cisco MPLS Courseware

COMPUTER BASED TRAINING VIDEOS

CBT Nuggets BCMSN, BSCI, ICSW, ONT, QoS & CCIE video’s – I just want to say that without these I wouldn’t have come nearly as far as I have, they’ve really helped me alot.

So now that I have finally completed my written exam, its time to move on and tackle the lab! I’m planning on attempting the lab in the next 6-12 months. I haven’t really set any kind of schedule, once I start working through my workbooks and after a few labs, Ill have a better idea of how far away I am from becoming a CCIE.

As for now… Its time to play with Multicast Routing!

~ by networkingza on October 4, 2008.

7 Responses to “CCIE written…Done!!”

  1. Way to go! The hard part is out of the way now, right? =)

  2. Hi jrensink78 thanks for your comment. The written exam was just to warm up, now comes the real work 🙂

  3. Nice one well done on to the hard stuff now though 🙂

  4. Congrats! One small step, now onto the fun parts

  5. Congrats! Now the hard part begins! 😉

  6. Hi guys,

    Thanks for your comments! I agree now its time for the fun/difficult/scary/crazy work to begin. I’ve been a little busy lately, but come Saturday I’ll do my first mock lab and start working through my workbooks.

  7. Better late than never.
    Well done on the drake.
    Now you need to get focussed to start the REAL preparation.
    Its much more fun than theory cramming.

Leave a Reply

 
