Progress Update – 14 September

Just a quick post to update you all on my progress over the last few days, so far I have completed the following chapters in the OECG:

Chapter 1 – Ethernet Basics
Chapter 2 – Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking
Chapter 3 – Spanning Tree Protocol
Chapter 4 – IP Addressing
Chapter 5 – IP Services
Chapter 6 – IP Forwarding (Routing)

Chapter 15 – Frame Relay
Chapter 18 – Security

I’m pleased with my progress, as well as how nicely my study notes are developing. Today Ill be starting RIPv2, I’m glad I’m finally on the routing section of this book, its taken awhile to get to this point. Of the routing protocols covered on the CCIE exams, I’m most concerned about OSPF and probably least concerned about BGP as I have quite a bit of experience with it. If I can get my OSPF to a point where I’m really comfortable with it (on NBMA implementations and all the little nuances), then my next big challenges would be FRTS & Multicast. I must say Im quite impressed with the OECG’s coverage of MPLS, this is a technology I’m really comfortable with so lets hope there’s a few nice MPLS questions on the written!

Working towards your CCIE is just like anything else in life, I believe its about consistently making progress and doing a little bit each day. If I can keep up my current pace, I’ll be able to reach the lab in no time. I’m learning a lot, having fun and getting to revisit some cool technologies I haven’t played with in a while, in short… I’m really enjoying working towards my CCIE. I realized this yet again when I was looking over some configuration files for a large ISP’s routers and switches the other day and understood every command and exactly what each device was doing. I’ve made a lot of progress, I just hope to keep learning more.

As for now, its time to start with RIPv2!

~ by networkingza on September 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
