Progress Update – 7 September

Been ages since I’ve had time to post an update (which really reflects how hard I’ve been studying lately). Since my last post I have finished reading through the OECG, made further changes to my study schedule and revised what will be placed in my summary guide.

After finally completing the OECG, and using CCNP Official Exam Certifications Guides, Cisco courseware and additional books on the subjects of QoS and BGP. I feel I have a fairly good idea of what I’m up against. Thus I have made the decision to write my CCIE written exam within the next 8 weeks, far sooner than I initially anticipated. I feel that through the course of studying for my CCNP, CCDP and CCIP certifications I have been exposed (all be it at various depths) to the bulk of the content in the CCIE written exam. While reading through the OECG I didn’t encounter any topics I had never heard about and only moved on from a chapter once I felt comfortable with the theory.

As for my summary guide, I’ve realized that its important to keep it as brief as possible, highlighting the key facts, and leaving the OECG and other titles to cover topics in more detail.

Over the last few weeks I have done a few interesting things including:

  • Upgrading my Storage/Multicast/Mail/Secondary DNS/Web/ YES this is my generic “server” at home, to Fedora 9.
  • Setting up my Multicast Lab at home, using VLC to stream Video Content. VLC is a great application, to take a look at it visit http://www.videolan.org/vlc/ . I have setup VNC on my multicast server, so that I can use vlc via the GUI if I feel like it. Additionally this allows me to use the multicast server as a client whenever I need an additional client system to view video streamed from other sources.
  • Spending some time on OSPF in NBMA networks
  • Falling in love with Cisco Any Transport over MPLS (AToM)
  • Playing around with BGP topics not covered in the CCIP or CCIE (R&S)

Well its time to get back to studying, today Im back with my old friend spanning-tree. I’ll leave you with a poem Radia Pearlman wrote while developing what would later become the Spanning-Tree Protocol…

Algorhyme

I think that I shall never see
a graph more lovely than a tree.
A tree whose crucial property
is loop-free connectivity.
A tree that must be sure to span
so packet can reach every LAN.
First, the root must be selected.
By ID, it is elected.
Least-cost paths from root are traced.
In the tree, these paths are placed.
A mesh is made by folks like me,
then bridges find a spanning tree.

Radia Perlman

~ by networkingza on September 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
