Progress Update – 15 August

Finally back and blogging! Things have been a little busy lately and I haven’t had much time to post. Since my last post I have totally changed my approach to studying for the CCIE written exam. Instead of spending hours upon hours working on my study notes and covering topics I know well, I’ve decided that I will first work through the OECG quickly, and complete it by the end of August. I will then start working through each chapter in more detail.

The logic behind this is to have a better feel for the overall exam and how far I still have to go. That way I know which technologies I need to really focus on and which I am comfortable with. So far I have read up to the end of Chapter 12, as well as the BGP chapters in OECG 2nd Edition. This weekend I will start with congestion management and avoidance.

Im looking forward to the rest of QoS, as its one of my favorite topics and I racked up lots of lab time earlier this year when attempting the QoS exam. Glad I forced myself to get through some of the more tricky configurations such as FRTS back then, hopefully I’ll be able to get through the last two QoS chapters fairly quickly. Once I’ve completed them, I really have Multicast and IPv6 left… Security, MPLS and Frame-relay are topics that I am fairly comfortable with. Additionally while working through the IGP chapters I brushed up on my Frame-Relay knowledge and watched the CBT Nuggets CCIE Frame-Relay videos. Don’t you guys just love Frame-Relay networks?

I have not updated my schedule yet, once I have completed the book at the end of August I will set a new schedule. I truly believe that I will get my written exam completed, long before the end of this year. I can really see how studying for my CCNP and CCIP certifications and becoming comfortable with those topics, has made my CCIE preparation so much easier. I would really advise that anyone wanting to get their CCIE (R&S) first does their CCIP. The topics covered, mainly BGP, QoS and MPLS are large topics on the CCIE written and lab exams and the more experience you can get with them the better.

Im definitely left feeling more optimistic than ever about my CCIE. I’ve worked through the first half of the OECG and there’s been no real surprises. Im hoping that Multicast isn’t insanely complex and that my CCNP level knowledge would have at least covered the basics.

A bit random, but I thought that some of you in the SP environment might be interested in a feature I came across earlier this week, hidden deep within the depths of the ES20 Configuration Guide, you will find the rather interesting technology of EVC.

Just to give you a hint of what is possible with EVC, take a look at the example below, straight from the ES20 configuration guide…

Double Tag VLAN Connect

In this example, an incoming frame with an outer dot1q tag of 10 and inner tag of 20 enters
TenGigabitEthernet1/0/1. It is index directed to TenGigabitEthernet1/0/2 and exits with an outer dot1q tag of 11 and inner tag 21. No MAC learning is involved.

! DSLAM facing port
Router(config)# interface TenGigabitEthernet1/0/1
Router(config-if)# service instance 100 ethernet
Router(config-if-srv)# encapsulation dot1q second-dot1q 20
Router(config-if-srv)# rewrite ingress tag pop 2 symmetric
! L2 facing port
Router(config)# interface TenGigabitEthernet1/0/2
Router(config-if)# service instance 101 ethernet
Router(config-if-srv)# encapsulation dot1q 11 second-dot1q 21
Router(config-if-srv)# rewrite ingress tag pop 2 symmetric
! connect service
Router# connect EVC1 TenGigabitEthernet1/0/1 100 TenGigabitEthernet1/0/2 101

To learn more please visit http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/core/cis7600/es20lc/baldcfg.htm

~ by networkingza on August 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
